Bushfire Recovery and Information - Shire of Manjimup

Latest updates will be posted on our website. Donations will be accepted via Direct Deposit BSB 036 126 Account No 830 418 Shire of Manjimup Trust Fund Account or in person at the Shire of Manjimup Administration Office. Latest updates ...

Northcliffe and Walpole Bushfires Recovery and Info Updated 12 Noon 6 March 2015

This page and following links provide residents and visitors with current information on the bushfire and recovery.  The Shire is proud of the fire fighters, volunteers and logistical support who have successfully protected assets and property and led to the current recovery activities.  The bushfire is one of the largest to affect the south west of WA and burnt an area of 98,000ha and had a perimeter of over 300km.

Northcliffe Bush Fire Operational Community Debrief

Will take place on Tuesday 10 March 2015 from 12pm at the Northcliffe Town Hall in Northcliffe.  This is an opportunity for all those impacted to receive a briefing and provide comment on their experience.                                                                                                                           

On 7 February residents were able to return to the Northcliffe Township.  Windy Harbour Road reopened on 10 February 2015, along with most roads to the south.

Several meetings have been held with Farmers and Rural Landowners affected by the bushfire and a scheme was confirmed on 5 March 2015 to address the replacement of fencing impacted by the fires. 

Community Afternoon Tea to be held in Northcliffe on Wednesday 11 March 1pm-2pm. Please join us!

While the Walpole fire did not involve evacuations it has caused significant communication, access and bussiness impacts.

The South Western Highway was reopened through to Walpole on Friday 20 February.

Bibbulmun Track:
Pemberton – Northcliffe, including Warren and Schaeffer Campsites has been reopened.
Mandalay Beach – Walpole, including Long Point and Mt Clare Campsites has been reopened.
Northcliffe – Mandalay Beach remains closed and is UNSAFE for walkers.

Updated track conditions are available at www.bibbulmuntrack.org.au.

Munda Biddi Trail:
Manjimup – Northcliffe has been reopened.
Beardmore Road – Walpole has been reopened.
Northcliffe – Beardmore Road remains closed and is UNSAFE for riders.

Updated trail conditions are available at www.mundabiddi.org.au.


Information is grouped as follows:

To contact the Shire on the bushfire and recovery please telephone (08) 9771 7777.

Paul Bawden
Recovery Coordinator

Celebrating our Diversity

The Shire of Manjimup is made up of four main towns being Manjimup, Pemberton, Northcliffe and Walpole. This website provides information and resources for our local community and businesses.

Visitors to the Southern Forests region may also find useful information on this website, but also at Southern Forests website.

Click here to view a five minute clip that featured on channel 9's Destination WA which showcases just a few of the many experiences available in the Shire of Manjimup.