

Shire President's Message



End to native logging

Following the State Government's announcement to end native logging in WA, I wrote to the Premier and Minister for Forestry and requested they visit the region and address the concerns of the community, we are keen to commence discussions between the industry, unions and the community to ensure a fair and equitable transition package for all workers and businesses impacted by this decision.

Are you bushfire prepared?

As the weather begins to warm it is now time to start preparing your home and property for bushfire season ahead of the restricted burning period commencing in November. The firebreak notice will be arriving in your letter box soon and contains important information on the requirements for your property.

The penalty for non-compliance with the Council for four years. firebreak notice is \$5.000.

burning is not an opportunity to burn rubber, plastic, furniture, and household • provide leadership and guidance to the rubbish.

Local Government Elections

An ordinary postal election will be held on Council. There are three candidates contending to fill one vacancy in the west ward, three candidates to fill two vacancies in the central ward and four candidates to fill one vacancy in the East Ward.

Congratulations to Councillor Wendy Eiby who was re-elected unopposed in the Coastal Ward and Jennifer Willcox who was elected unopposed in the South Ward.

I encourage you to review the candidate profiles on the Shire website and contact the make an informed decision on who will be representing you on Council.

Those elected will hold their position on

The role of a Councillor is to:

- You are reminded that fuel hazard reduction represent the interests of electors, ratepayers and residents of the district;
 - community;
 - facilitate communication between the community and Council;
- the 16 October 2021 to fill six vacancies on participate in the local government's decision making processes at council meetings; and
 - other functions given by the Act or other written law.

Citizen of the Year Awards

Nominations for citizen of the year awards are now open. In 2022 the Shire will hold the official Australia Day celebrations in Walpole and the citizen of the year awards will be presented during the ceremony.

Nominate that outstanding community candidates with any queries to enable you member or community group and have them publicly thanked and appreciated with a nomination and potential award.

Until next timePaul

Manjimup Public Library

BIG BOOK SALE!

7 - 9 October 2021

Thurs & Fri Saturday

10am - 4pm 9am - 12noon Nothing over \$4



COUNCIL ELECTIONS

An ordinary postal election will be held on 16 October 2021 to fill six vacancies on Council

CENTRAL WARD Two Councillors Candidates

Donelle Buegge

Paul Omodei Jayde Darin

WEST WARD One Councillor Candidates

Murray Ventris Wade De Campo Julian Sharp

EAST WARD One Councillor Candidates

Bill Smart Dean Phillips Elizabeth Sonter Cliff Winfield

COASTALWARD Wendy Eiby

re-elected unopposed

SOUTH WARD Jennifer Willcox elected unopposed

Election Packages will be sent to all electors on the local government electoral roll where there is an election in their electorate.

Replacement packages can be obtained from the Shire of Manjimup prior to election day and from 8am to 6pm on election day if the package is not received or should any papers be missing.

Post your vote early - Completed postal voting packages must reach the Returning Officer by 6pm on election day, Saturday 16 October 2021.

You may hand deliver your package to an electoral officer at the Shire of Manjimup during business hours before election day or at the polling place between 8am and 6pm on election day.

> **Chief Polling Place Wellness and Respite Community Centre Cnr Rose and Edwards Streets, Manjimup**

The count of votes will commence at 6pm at the Wellness and Respite Community Centre - Cnr Rose and Edwards Streets, Manjimup

Shire Bulletins can be viewed on the Shire website: www.manjimup.wa.gov.au/shirebulletin



West Ward Councillors Cr Murray Ventris (08) 9776 1757 Cr Kenneth Lawrence

(08) 9776 2010

Pemberton Waste Transfer Station Lot 13760 Pemberton Northcliffe Rd Yeagarup Wednesday: 11am - 5pm

Pemberton Library

Pemberton Lesser Hall - 9776 1311 Wednesday and Thursday: 9am - 1.30pm

Saturday/Sunday: 12pm - 5pm

Friday 9.30am to 5pm Saturday 9am - 12pm

2021 Ordinary Council Meetings

Meetings are held in the Council Chamber, off Brockman Street, Manjimup Copies of the agenda are available via the Shire website Tuesday before the meeting. The Shire of Manjimup recommends attendance from members of the public only if they have

> 21 October 18 November 16 December

essential matters to discuss due to COVID-19

restrictions.

Shire President - Paul Omodei

Administration Centre

8.15am-4.30pm Monday-Friday Tel: (08) 9771 7777 Fax: (08) 9771 7771

37-39 Rose Street, Manjimup Postal: PO Box 1, Manjimup WA 6258

Email: info@manjimup.wa.gov.au Website: www.manjimup.wa.gov.au

Emergencies Only A/H: 6454 4600